History – Mary Ito Award

Mary Ito served as a school for an Indian reservation in Wyoming. Following her retirement, she moved back to Utah and once again became involved with the nursing profession. Mary enrolled in education courses to maintain her nursing license. She became a member of the Utah School Nurses Association while all the time retaining her NASN membership. She helped Granite and Jordan districts with their Snellen Eye Testing, often returning to Wyoming to help associates at her former school.

This award is given in her honor, to a school nurse who has made unique contributions to school nursing by carrying on the inspirational spirit of Mary Ito: to "Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much."

Year	Nurse	School District
2024-25	Camie Richins	North Summit
2023-24	Whitney Bailey	Washington County
2022-23	Debbie Campbell	Weber
2021-22	Sarah Timpson	Granite
2020-21	Aubreigh Parks	Wasatch
2019-20	Alice Sperry	North & South Sanpete
2018-19	AJ Walkowski	Jordan
2017-18	Kim Lowe	Alpine
2016-17	Lenay Porter	Nebo
2015-16	Margo Hill	Davis
2014-15	Lois Dainack	Washington County
2013-14	Teresa Scheidler-Hildebrand	Canyons
2012-13	Kellee Wayment	Weber
2011-12	Shirley Stevens	Rowland Hall
2010-11	Stacy Drew	Canyons
2009-10	Bettysue Hinkson	Alpine
2008-09	Lisa Wright	Davis
2006-07	Jody Stubler	Jordan

Year	Nurse	School District
2005-06	Claudia Streuper, Linda Crowton, Pat Teuscher, Sharon Hendrickson, Pam Ballif, Cathy Cardon, Karen Thorsted, Kellee Wayment, Veletia Gray, Becky Toone	Weber School District Nurses
2004-05	Jean Cheney	
2002-03	Lynne Calame, Nan Mead, Deborah Milan-Nilar, Mary Clark	Salt Lake City School District Nurses
2001-02	Lana Sullivan	
2000-01	Rosa Oaks	